Last Day

On our last day in Dominica we went to the Carib territories, but first, we spent 5 last minutes saying our goodbyes to the black sandy beaches. It was very hard for all of us.  Then we took another strenuous, leg burning hike/climb down to Dog’s Head.  There were many gigantic waves crashing onto the cliffs and rocks, and since many of us are adventurous and daring, we stood on the edge of the cliffs to take a better look…  I dared the waves to reach me and then a tidal wave [in my eyes] came roaring through.  I was running for my life, tripping on rocks, hoping that this wave won’t grab me by the ankle and drag me back into the ocean.  It was quite horrifying and I thought I was going to die.  Well, I obviously didn’t die, and also I didn’t learn my lesson of standing on the edge of a cliff because I stayed there.  It was exciting! 

Afterwards, we went to the church where the Carib territories first started.  There we met a couple of artists, and also a very interesting man looking for women to take back home. . . None of us went. . .  that’s all I have to say about that.  Then, we went to a few stands on the side of the road, I talked to a few of the vendors selling hand-made baskets and other.  They told me how they made their baskets, getting different colors by how long they leave the baskets in the mud.  It was quite interesting. 

At the end of the day, the staff of ITME prepared a fabulous dinner party for us.  We all dressed up, there was candle light, and the food was delicious, as always.  I have some more movies made for you all and unfortunately, since we’re leaving so soon, they will be posted up when we get back home around 2 in the morning.

One Response

Leave a Reply

