The Johnny Depp extravaganza and some snorkeling fun!

After a delicious breakfast this morning, we all headed out to Scotts Head to snorkel for our last time on this trip. On the way there, we had the opportunity to see one of the sites for the second Pirates movie! The “cannibal village” site is here in Dominica, and yes I relished in the very spot where Johnny Depp stood, and no I was not ashamed. LOL! It was great fun, and one of the little huts was still there!

Afterwards we snorkeled at Scotts Head, and although the water was rough and the water murky, I saw some beautiful parrot fish, blue tangs, the biggest sea urchins you could ever imagine, and I even swam along top a sea turtle for quite some time. It was amazing how I was swimming as fast as possible to keep up with him, and he just glided along the way a bird catches the wind. My other favorite moment was diving down to hang out with a fairly large trunk fish who was very unconcerned with my company.

I’m sad it was our last snorkeling adventure today, but I’m very happy that we’ve been able to be in the water as much as we have. Now I want to snorkel everywhere in the world to experience any marine life I can! I have had an absolute blast encountering all the amazing creatures I’ve seen, and it’s given me a feeling of joy I’ve never had before. It’s one thing to watch shows on the Discovery channel about ocean life, but it’s a whole ‘nother wave of excitement to see it before your eyes. I’m so blessed to be here and to have met all the people and animals who make this beautiful island their home. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. That sounds like a dream come true for someone.Great job!

  2. HI from MOM, I wish you could all stay for another week on the Island. Thanks to everyone for the wonderful observations and insights you have written about. Great Job !!!! WE still have not heard from the rescue if we will get the dogs and when.
    Please call me when you can in Boston or in Maine.
    Check your email site too I sent you some job information………….Love MOM

Leave a Reply

